Library Book Research

Using the college library I came across the magazine; View 2- Denim Casual Sport, which was a great resource to find some potential fabrics and techniques that I could use, that fall into the category of sportswear and functional fabrics. When experimenting with materials and creating samples I would like to involve the taped detail shown below, and perhaps laser or hand cut details. P 128-129:

In Fabric for Fashion, by Clive Hallet & Amanda Johnston, I discovered designers who work primarily with recycled and second hand fabric. In my previous project on Foundation Art & Design I worked with cutting strips of fabric I already had and used these to produce knitted samples, and this is a technique I want to push further in my Final Major Project. As a part of my concept is working with functional fabrics, I’d like to try knitting and weaving with materials such as lycra, and plastic.

From left: Rachael Cassar, Antoine Peters.

 

Leave a Reply

