Fabric Manipulation

As I want to eventually produce a garment which with be made up of some functional, wetsuit influenced materials, I decided to use some ivory coloured spandex which I previously bought and cut this into roughly one inch wide strips. By tying the lengths together I created a chunky ‘yarn’ which I knitted together to create a sample piece. I like the texture and density created by using this technique so will continue to produce knitted samples, but next I’m planning on working with varying widths of fabric and different knit patterns.

I found that when applying a heat gun on a very low setting to plastic (polythene) bags, a textured, bubbly surface was created. The heat also added stiffness to the bags which makes the material easier to create structure with. I think this could be an interesting method to explore further, and this week I’m aiming on creating lots of smaller pieces of melted plastic and incorporate these into some fashion illustrations.

Leave a Reply

