Experimentation of Manmade Materials

Using pieces of ‘tablecloth fabric’ and PVC I began trying to make samples that created interesting shapes and volume. Using a sewing machine and many circular pieces of the materials I folded the plastic and stitched it to create lots of little ruffle pieces, which have then been glued together. I was influenced by Anne Sofie Madsen’s work, a designer I looked at very early on in the project, who works with moulded fabrics and creates intriguing structured garments.

In the photos above I used thick layers of acrylic paint on laminated plastic and left this to dry until the paint became solid and could be peeled off. This first attempt didn’t go as well as I had imagined as the paint only peeled off in the areas which were quite heavily built up with paint, and in thinner areas the paint cracked or the shapes broke. I do like the effect of using motifs on a transparent base and could try to recreate this using different materials, maybe making the shapes from fabric and stitching them to fabric or painting directly onto something.

The next part of my experimentation was not planned, and my initial idea was to create 3D flowers inspired by bridal decorations using white waterproof fabric, but I decided to actually test how waterproof the fabric was. When I saw the water droplets sitting on the fabric it reminds me of beading and I wanted to photograph this effect.

My next idea was that I could use the photos and print these onto fabric- such as scuba, and use this fabric in my garment. I really want to include an element of this in my final design as I think it captures the concept of my project; the water droplets look like delicate glass beads whilst the waterproof fabric ties in with my interest in using sports materials, and if I had this printed onto scuba, I could create a garment or accessories which are functional, yet have a decorative finish.

I’m going to take some more photos next week where I will iron the fabric to remove any creases and photograph the water droplets to achieve the right photos to create a printed textile from.

Leave a Reply

