Fashion Illustrations

IMG_5192.jpg

Using design sketches in my book I used several sheets of tracing paper to make copies of the drawings that I wanted to develop into illustrative pieces. The piece above was created using two copies of my illustrations with one of them turned onto the other side so that I could create the mirror effect. I used pencil before applying acrylic paint in varying thicknesses before using a fine brush to add some black outline details to areas of the figures and garments. On reflection I think that I may have done this piece better if I flattened the sheets a little more as the paint causes the paper to crinkle. As this was more of an extra experimental piece I am not disappointed with the outcome however I know in the future if I am to create these kinds of illustrations I may use a different base to paint on such as cartridge paper or card.

Leave a Reply

